Concordia Seminary Newsroom

Concordia Seminary Newsroom and Press Releases

Nominees for Seminary president announced

The following 44 individuals have been nominated as candidates for election as the 11th president of Concordia Seminary, St. Louis, per Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (LCMS) Bylaws, and have allowed their names to stand for consideration:

Dr. Joel D. Biermann
Dr. Ralph Blomenberg
Dr. Gerhard H. Bode Jr.
Dr. Jon S. Bruss
Dr. Kirk M. Clayton
Dr. Anthony A. Cook
Dr. Burnell F. Eckardt
Dr. Joel C. Elowsky
Dr. Glenn K. Fluegge
Dr. Kevin S. Golden
Dr. Paul J. Grime
Dr. Gifford A. Grobien
Dr. Benjamin D. Haupt
Dr. Erik H. Herrmann
Dr. Jeffrey J. Kloha
Dr. Robert R. Lessing
Dr. David P. E. Maier
Dr. Walter A. Maier III
Dr. Aaron M. Moldenhauer
Dr. Steven P. Mueller
Dr. Edward A. Naumann
Dr. Martin R. Noland

Gerald A. Paul
Robert W. Paul (Houston, Texas)
Dr. Paul A. Philp
Dr. Christian A. Preus
Dr. David R. Preus
Dr. Jacob A. O. Preus III
Dr. Lawrence R. Rast Jr.
Dr. Harold Ristau
Dr. Matthew W. Rueger
Dr. Douglas L. Rutt
Dr. Leopoldo A. Sánchez M.
Dr. Peter J. Scaer
Dr. Travis J. Scholl
Dr. Klaus D. Schulz
Dr. William W. Schumacher
Dr. Ken R. Schurb
Dr. Mark A. Seifrid
Dr. Jeffrey E. Skopak
Dr. Dien A. Taylor
Dr. James W. Voelz
Dr. Lucas V. Woodford
Dr. Thomas J. Zelt

Presidential nominations, per the LCMS Handbook, were submitted by LCMS congregations, the Seminary’s Board of Regents and the Seminary faculty.

During the next phase of the search, the Presidential Search Committee will evaluate each of the candidates and will recommend at least five candidates from the list of nominees to the four electors. Electors meet May 16 to elect the new president. The four electors include one vote from the Board of Regents voting as a group, one vote from the LCMS district president serving on the board as a voting member, one vote from the chairman of the LCMS Board of Directors and one vote from the LCMS president. The election of the president requires three of four elector votes.

The new president will succeed President Dr. Dale A. Meyer, who will retire June 30. Meyer became the Seminary’s 10th president in 2005.

Current information about the Seminary’s presidential search can be found at

About Concordia Seminary

Concordia Seminary, St. Louis provides Gospel-centered graduate-level theological education for pastors, missionaries, deaconesses, scholars and other leaders in the name of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (LCMS). To learn more, visit