- Concordia Seminary - https://www.csl.edu -

Snapshot of a world-class faculty

Concordia Seminary’s distinguished faculty members are known and respected throughout the church for their biblical and confessional scholarship and experience in applying the truth of God’s Word to daily life.

Many students say the reason they come to Concordia Seminary is because of our outstanding faculty. Our professors are not only scholars and theologians, but also pastors who personally care for the future church leaders in their midst — whether in the classroom, during online discussions or chatting over coffee after morning chapel. Seminary faculty members bring a real-world knowledge to the classroom as they average more than 11 years of service each as pastors, missionaries or chaplains. As they combine theological expertise with experience in ministry, they seek to engage the most pressing issues affecting the broader culture and our world.

Their individual expertise and widely varied scholarship enriches the curriculum and includes such topics as biblical archaeology, Pauline theology, New Testament, Old Testament, Martin Luther and the Reformation, Christology, hermeneutics and biblical languages, missions, preaching, church history, creation, counseling, reconciliation, Muslim-Christian dialogue, film analysis, worship and on and on and on.

Dr. David Adams, professor of Exegetical Theology, was engaged for several years as a member of the excavation staff at Khirbet Qeiyafa in Israel, the place associated with the battle of David and Goliath.

Seminary faculty members regularly teach worldwide including in the Philippines, Siberia, Russia, Brazil, Thailand, Taiwan, Cambodia, Ethiopia, Latvia, Sweden
and Slovakia.

Many faculty members are musical: Dr. Timothy Dost plays the clarinet and oboe; Dr. David Maxwell plays the organ; Dr. David Peter plays the piano; Dr. David Adams and Dr. Ely Prieto play guitar; Dr. Paul Robinson plays the tuba; and Dr. Leopoldo A. Sánchez M. plays double bass.

Dr. Thomas J. Egger

Dr. Douglas L. Rutt

Dr. Joel Elowsky: Dean of Advanced Studies
Dr. Erik Herrmann: Dean of Theological Research and Publication
Dr. David Peter: Dean of Faculty
Dr. Timothy Saleska: Dean of Ministerial Formation
Dr. Jon Vieker: Dean of Chapel

Faculty endowed chairs:
Dr. Charles Arand: Eugene E. and Nell S. Fincke Graduate Professor of Theology
Dr. Joel Biermann: Waldemar A. and June Schuette Professor of Systematic Theology
Dr. Kent Burreson: Louis A. Fincke and Anna B. Shine Professor of Systematic Theology
Dr. Thomas J. Egger: Gustav and Sophie Butterbach Professor of Exegetical Theology
Dr. David Maxwell: Louis A. Fincke and Anna B. Shine Professor of Systematic Theology
Dr. Joel Okamoto: Waldemar and Mary Griesbach Professor of Systematic Theology
Dr. Ely Prieto: Lutheran Foundation Professor of Urban and Cross-Cultural Ministry
Dr. Leopoldo A. Sánchez M.: Werner R.H. Krause and Elizabeth Ringger Krause Professor of Hispanic Ministries
Dr. David Schmitt: Gregg H. Benidt Memorial Professor of Homiletics and Literature
Dr. William Schumacher: Buehner-Duesenberg Professor of Missions
Dr. James W. Voelz: Dr. Jack Dean Kingsbury Professor of New Testament Theology

Staff endowed chair:
Dr. James Marriott: Kreft Chair for Music Arts


[1] [2]