Nov 17, 2020 Print This Article

Presidential Search Committee announces list of nominees

*NOV. 18, 2020: This post has been updated with additional information.

Members of the Presidential Search Committee, per their assigned role as outlined in Bylaw of the LCMS Handbook, have narrowed the list of nominees to seven who will continue through the evaluation process for the next president of Concordia Seminary. This action is part of the necessary process in honing the list of nominees to what will be a final portfolio of at least five names to recommend to the electors.

Committee members met Nov. 13 and shared this update:

  • Over the past several weeks, the committee has been reading and discussing the information and views shared by both nominees and their references in order to determine which nominees will move on to the next stage in the process.
  • After much prayer, discussion and evaluation, the committee has selected the following men to move forward:
    • Dr. Gerhard H. Bode Jr.
    • Dr. Phillip L. Brandt
    • Dr. Joel C. Elowsky
    • Dr. Benjamin D. Haupt
    • Dr. Joel D. Lehenbauer
    • Dr. David W. Loy
    • Dr. Gregory P. Seltz

As part of the next stage of the process, these nominees will participate in psychological testing and interviews with the committee. Upon completion of these evaluations, the committee will recommend a final list of at least five or more candidates from this list to the electors.

At least two weeks before the election, which is set for Feb. 6, 2021, the electors shall finalize the slate of nominees to be interviewed in the election meeting. The electors may choose from this recommended list and/or select one or more candidates from the original list of nominees, after consultation with the committee, for the slate.

The four electors include one vote from the Board of Regents voting as a group, one vote from the LCMS district president serving on the board as a voting member, one vote from the chairman of the LCMS Board of Directors and one vote from the LCMS president. The election of the president requires three of four elector votes.

The original list of nominees was announced Sept. 9. Presidential nominations, per the LCMS Handbook, were submitted by LCMS congregations, the Seminary’s Board of Regents and the Seminary faculty.

The new president will succeed Dr. Dale A. Meyer, who retired June 30. Meyer became the Seminary’s 10th president in 2005. Dr. Daniel Preus is currently serving as interim president of the Seminary.