Jan 23, 2021 Print This Article

Final slate of presidential candidates set

11th Seminary president to be elected Feb. 6

The following two individuals have been named to the final slate of candidates to be considered for election and call as the 11th president of Concordia Seminary, St. Louis:

  • Dr. Thomas J. Egger
  • Dr. Joel D. Lehenbauer

These candidates were selected from the pool of nominees who gave permission for their names to stand in consideration for the call. The slate was established by the Seminary’s Board of Regents (voting individually), the LCMS district president elected to the Seminary’s Board of Regents (Dr. John Wille, LCMS South Wisconsin District), the president of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (Dr. Matthew C. Harrison) and the chairman of the LCMS Board of Directors (Dr. Michael Kumm).

The original list of nominees was announced Sept. 9. Presidential nominations, per the LCMS Handbook, were submitted by LCMS congregations, the Seminary’s Board of Regents and the Seminary faculty.

On Saturday, Feb. 6, 2021, the electors will vote to select the candidate to receive the presidential call. Per the LCMS Handbook, in this vote, electors Wille, Harrison and Kumm each will have one vote, and the remaining members of the Seminary’s Board of Regents will have one collective vote. A public announcement will be made at 2 p.m. CT that day following the election.

The announcement of the election results on the Seminary campus is open to the public; however, because of health and safety protocols in place as a result of the coronavirus pandemic, only limited seating is available and reservations are required. Those interested in attending in person must register and comply with the Seminary’s protocols regarding physical distancing and mask wearing. To reserve a seat for the announcement, which will take place in the Chapel of St. Timothy and St. Titus on campus, please complete the registration form. The deadline for registration is Thursday, Feb. 4.

The announcement of election results also will be livestreamed at csl.edu/live.

The new president will succeed President Dr. Dale A. Meyer, who retired June 30. Meyer became the Seminary’s 10th president in 2005. Dr. Daniel Preus is currently serving as interim president of the Seminary.

Read the President Search Committee’s final report or visit csl.edu/president-search for more information about the Seminary’s presidential search.