Jan 26, 2023 Print This Article

Second annual Prevallet Hymn Writer’s Workshop set for Feb. 18

Event features two published hymn writers

Registration is open for the second annual Prevallet Hymn Writing Workshop slated for Saturday, Feb. 18, on the campus of Concordia Seminary, St. Louis. Aspiring and published hymnwriters, translators and Concordia Seminary students are encouraged to attend.  

This workshop is especially designed for equipping Concordia Seminary students to participate in the annual Pamela Ann Prevallet Hymn Competition. Although the competition is open to current first, second and vicarage Master of Divinity students, as well as M.A. Deaconess Studies students, all Concordia Seminary students may participate in this hymn writing workshop to learn or sharpen their skills in hymn writing.

Participants will learn from two published hymn writers: Lisa Clark, senior editor of curriculum resources at Concordia Publishing House, and Rev. Charles Henrickson, pastor at St. Matthew Lutheran Church in Bonne Terre, Mo., and Grace Lutheran Church in Desoto, Mo. 

“The Lord continues to bless His church with new hymns and new hymnwriters,” said Dean of Chapel and Associate Professor of Practical Theology Dr. Jon Vieker. “This year’s presenters will help raise up a new generation of hymnwriters to proclaim the Gospel into people’s hearts and lives.” 

The workshop will be held from 8:30 a.m. to noon, with an optional individual coaching session in the afternoon. The workshop will be held in the lower level of the Chapel of St. Timothy and St. Titus, 801 Seminary Place, St. Louis, MO 63105.

The registration deadline is Feb 15. Cost is $15 per person and free for Concordia Seminary students and their spouses. Registration includes a copy of The Anatomy of Hymnody by Austin C. Lovelace.

For more information, contact Vieker at 314-505-7570 or [email protected].

About Concordia Seminary

Concordia Seminary, St. Louis provides Gospel-centered graduate-level theological education for pastors, missionaries, deaconesses, scholars and other leaders in the name of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (LCMS). To learn more, visit csl.edu.